1. Road movement may not be used to enter enemy zones of control (ZOC). Units may use road movement when leaving enemy zones of control. Enemy ZOC also negate bridges at streams.
2. It costs one extra movement point to enter a rough hill hex (E6, F5, and F6).
3. Units are not required to stop upon entering enemy zones of control. (“ZOC don’t lock.”) They may not, however, move directly from one enemy ZOC to another.
4. If a general unit is on an entry hex when a unit or units under his command appear, the general unit may add one extra movement factor to those units if it follows them to the end of their movement.
5. A general accompanying a combat unit to provide it with the extra movement factor may move before or after doing so, or detour at any point in the combat unit’s movement, as long as the general is present for each hex of the combat unit’s movement.
6. In order to receive an extra movement factor, a combat unit must be accompanied by the same general for each hex of its movement.
7. When an entering unit’s entry hex is blocked by enemy units or enemy ZOC, the entering unit comes on board at the nearest board edge hex not occupied by enemy units or in enemy ZOC. If 2 such hexes are equally near, the entering unit may choose either.
8. When an entering unit’s entry hex is blocked by friendly units that are unable to move, the entering unit comes on board at the nearest board edge hex not occupied by enemy units or in enemy ZOC. If the entering unit is blocked by friendly units that are able to move, the friendly units can move to allow the entering units on board, or the entering unit can cross over the friendly units.
9. Road movement can be maintained if non-road movement is involved inside a hex. For example, movement from I5 to H5 to G6 receives the road bonus for each hex, because the non-road movement takes place completely inside hex H5. Other examples are G8 to F7 to E7 and G10 to G9 to G8.
10. A general may not “commit suicide” by deliberately entering an opponent’s ZOC.
11. The Battle Manual, page 20, Rule 8b2, COMBAT EXAMPLE 2, Movement, Paragraph 2 is incorrect. Pegram’s movement costs it 3 1/2 movement factors, not 4 1/2 as printed.
12. Two or more generals from the same side may occupy the same hex, whether or not combat units are present.
13. Hancock’s power to command any Union units on July 1 extends through Turn 8.
14. If Hancock ends the Union half of Turn 8 commanding units of different corps, he may remain in command of those units during the Confederate portion of Turn 9. However, he must relinquish command at the beginning of Union Turn 9 unless he is unable to move.
15. The two Cavalry Corps generals, Stuart and Pleasanton, can command any cavalry unit in their respective armies, including horse artillery units.
16. Stacking limits apply only at the end of a player’s movement, not during movement.
17. The retreat sequence is as follows.
a. If possible, retreat to an adjacent hex which is not in enemy ZOC and not occupied by friendly combat units. The retreat is now complete.
b. If no such hex is available, retreat to an adjacent hex which is not in enemy ZOC but is occupied by friendly combat units. From that hex, go back to step “a”.
c. If all retreat hexes are in enemy ZOC, if possible, retreat to one that does not contain any friendly combat units. The retreat is now complete.
d. Retreat to a hex that is in enemy ZOC and contains friendly combat units. From that hex, go back to step “a”.
retreating unit cannot enter or reenter any hex originally occupied by it or any
other friendly unit engaged in the same battle. If any step calls for that to
happen, go to the next step.
If following this sequence results in an “endless loop,” go to the next step that would break the loop.
18. If a defeated unit’s only retreat would result in overstacking, it cannot retreat and must take an additional step loss.
19. If a defeated artillery unit’s only retreat would be to a wooded rough hills hex (E6 or F5), it cannot retreat and must take an additional step loss.
20. If a reorganizing unit is attacked, the reorganization marker is removed permanently and the unit defends itself with its step-reduced combat factor.
21. The “0” on a 10-sided die represents 10 (ten).
22. Notwithstanding Rule 4a5, which states that “An individual combat can never consist of attacking units from 2 or more hexes against defending units in 2 or more hexes,” such an attack is possible if both attacking hexes are adjacent to both defending hexes. For example, units in E8 and G8 could attack units in F7 and F8 in one battle.
23. A single attacking double range artillery unit may attack more than one enemy artillery unit as long as all defending units are within double range.
24. Artillery adjacent to and therefore engaged in regular combat with other units may not engage in double range artillery combat.
25. Artillery units gain terrain modifiers when attacked at double range by other artillery units, but not when attacking at double range or supporting other units attacked in regular combat.
26. A defending double range artillery unit on a hill does not gain the terrain modifier if attacked from the same hill (e.g., Cemetery Hill).
27. A defending double range artillery unit in woods does not gain the terrain modifier if attacked from a continuously connected woods hex (e.g., S4 and U5.)
28. Double range artillery combat may not cause more than a one step loss, and there is no advance or retreat after combat.
29. If either the double
range artillery unit or its target unit is on a hill hex, intervening terrain
(including intervening hill hexes) does not block such combat.
30. Defending double range artillery may not add its combat factor to another defending double range artillery unit. It may only add its combat factor to a unit defending in normal combat.
31. Two artillery units in the same hex cannot split their double range artillery combat into two battles.
32. Double range artillery combat is not allowed at night.
33. A reorganizing artillery unit may not use its combat factor to support another unit without permanently removing its reorganization marker.
34. Advances and retreats of previous battles do not alter the odds of combats involving double range artillery that have not yet been rolled.
35. If a player, during the movement portion of his turn, moves a unit off the board, that unit is considered eliminated, scoring the appropriate number of Victory Points for the opposing side. If, during the combat portion of his turn, a player’s unit must retreat, he may retreat the unit off the board (even if an alternate route is available on the board) without further penalty. General units retreated off the board or voluntarily withdrawn may reenter the game during the next night turn per the rules as written; any other units retreated off the board or voluntarily withdrawn may not reenter the game.
36. Reinforcements never brought on board do not count as VPs for either side.
37. General units may be used to control victory point hexes.
38. If a unit is successfully reorganized, the victory point scored by the opposing side for flipping the unit is negated.
39. The initiative marker may be used only once in each battle.
*These clarifications are the same as the preceding ones dated 12/7/2012 with
the following exceptions:
1. Paragraphs 20 and 33 have been added.
2. Paragraph 35 has been reworded for improved clarification.